Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-04-2020, 17:04   #1

Searching for 1st boat; Catalina, Columbia, San Juan, Santana, Ranger...??

I'm a new sailor. I've taken a couple of adult intro to dinghy sailing, completed 3 ASA sailing courses at my local sailing school and have raced as crew on keel boats (33-36') both buoy and distance races for about a year. In other words, I have limited experience.

I need a sailboat.

I'm looking for something in the 24-28' range that is easy to sail for a beginner around Puget Sound, San Juan Islands area and I plan on getting a slip because I don't want to trailer but I don't mind a swing keel although it seems like fixed keels are more stable. I like the idea of a stable boat, ie: bathtub so I don't kill myself and I'm scared of capsizing due to a sudden gust for example but I expect that as I learn and become a better skilled sailor, maybe I don't need it to be so stable that it compromises performance too much. Also, as this will be my first boat, a learning boat, my budget is probably going to be in the $5K or less. I'm willing to be patient until the right boat comes along, one that's in decent shape.

This is what I'm planning:
Easy boat to handle, single or double handed (I'm a very petite, light weight woman but don't underestimate size!!).
Fixed or swing keel.
Approx: 24-28'
A good balance of stability and performance but as a beginner would rather err on the side of stability.
Used for day and weekend sails.
Descent comfort level in cabin.
Sailing Puget Sound, San Juan Islands