Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-04-2020, 19:21   #1

Working While Cruising?

I am planning on finally starting my journey of travelling the world and will be starting in the Caribbean. I have saved enough money to hopefully last me a few years if nothing to drastic happens to my boat but if it does I’ll need money. Is working for a year and travelling the next in the Caribbean viable? Is it possible to get a job at a marina? Or is it just freelance work? By the way I was an electrician. If it’s more freelance and just do work for other sailers, how do I get the job? Do I go around asking if someone needs work on their boat? Or do I ask the marina if anyone needs help and they will direct me to them? This might sound silly but I’m wondering how I’ll be able to make money, do I just go around asking or go to the marina and they will redirect me?
UserNam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2020, 19:28   #2

Boat: Pearson 367
Re: Working While Cruising?

Most cruisers I know will sail during the season then return home to work or visit family during hurricane season. Work six months then sail six months, keeps the cruising kitty full and let's current investments grow. Being that you have a job you could easily go back to it's a pretty manageable lifestyle.
LLCoolDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2020, 19:36   #3

But if I where to not return to Canada and stay permanently in the Caribbean?
UserNam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2020, 20:17   #4

Boat: Pearson 367

You will still need a hurricane hole during hurricane season. You will probably find some work but at reduced wages. You have electrical knowledge but you don't know anything about marine electronics which is what you'll need.
LLCoolDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2020, 02:18   #5
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, UserNam.