Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-03-2017, 21:59   #1

Any Experience with Columbia 43?

ok, so I'm relatively new to sailing, and want to buy a sailboat. was looking at a columbia 43. with the bunks i can cram a bunch of friends into it for some weekend fun. And looks relatively fast, and have read online that it is fast.
However, i can't seem to find any metrics, eg (if you are going downwind with 25 kts of wind you may get the boat up to __ kts).. I'm just trying to get a ballpark, or normal cruising speeds..

anyone with first hand experience? not just about speed, but how well does it sail, are they built well.. etc.. I think the boat may be perfect, just want to fill in these blanks.

Thanks in advance for any stories/advice.
NotCanadian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2017, 04:24   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Re: Any Experience with Columbia 43?

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, NotCanadian.

http://sailingmagazine.net/article-1...lumbia-43.html

GordMay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2017, 05:23   #3

Boat: 1968 Columbia 50

Not Canadian, Welcome aboard. May I suggest that you contact Brandon Ford who owns a newly restored C-43 named Hagoth. They have a blog talking about their 43 and the refit/restoration, as well as a lot of useful info on the boat itself. C-43's are usually a little undervalued for a boat their size, and came in 3 versions, Mark I, II, and III, each are a little different.

You can find their blog at The Log of Hagoth

They have a couple of pages on information concerning their boat, its numbers, and design.

Fair Winds...and good luck.
Old 01-04-2017, 06:15   #4

Boat: Valiant 40