Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-06-2020, 03:50   #1
Registered User

Join Date: May 2020
Location: Florida
Boat: Lagoon 400
Posts: 14
Lagoon 400 Wiring Question

Im being told that the type & size/gauge of wiring used in the construction of a Lagoon 400 was the same regardless of the boat being euro (230V) or US (115V). Im trying to verify this but have not been able to find any documentation. Does anyone here have firsthand knowledge of this and/or access to documentation that they can share? Thanks for the assist 😊
__________________

fthurlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2020, 22:15   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Oz
Posts: 959
Re: Lagoon 400 Wiring Question

On the Lagoon owners facebook there is a file that has the electrical diagram of the L400. Those diagrams specify the dimensions of the wires and cables in the diagrams in mm2. Covert this to the USA AWG and they should be the same or larger than the US recommended wire gauges for 110V if, for your particular year/model, they put in a "fits all" wiring harness.


You may even find some of the AC wires actually have the size stamped or printed on the side of the insulation. For example 2.5mm euro wire converts to 14AWG, 6mm converts to AWG10 etc, you need to know what the 110V device's wiring gauge is required for the distance needed. I am no electrician so whilst this info might help understand, get a marine electrician to do it properly.
__________________

Bean Counter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2020, 03:40   #3
Registered User

Join Date: May 2020
Location: Florida
Boat: Lagoon 400
Posts: 14
Re: Lagoon 400 Wiring Question

Thanks!
fthurlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2020, 07:37   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New England
Boat: lagoon 380 s2
Posts: 725
Re: Lagoon 400 Wiring Question

Someone should correct me if I am wrong, but I think the power should be the same in the sense that in NA if your device is using 4 amps st 110V, then it would use 2A at 220V, so the same power draw. So if you are limited to half the amps on the wire with 220, you might be able to use the same size wire. I am not an electrician. I also dont know if my 15A breaker on my 110 boat is a 7A breaker in the EU.
jbinbi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2020, 08:13   #5
Registered User
 
Ndavies's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: On the Ocean
Boat: Hunter 42 Passage and Lagoon 40
Posts: 230
Images: 3
Re: Lagoon 400 Wiring Question

While I understand that the power at 220 and 110 is the same, obviously the amps are not. A cable's current carrying capacity (or ampacity) is the critical issue, not necessarily the total power. I am not an electrician (I am an engineer), but I think this is related to heat and power loss - which from a long-forgotten physics class is a function of the square of the amps x resistance.
__________________
S/V Midnight Sun III
https://midnightsunii.blogspot.com/
www.midnightsunii.com
Ndavies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2020, 12:26   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 1
Re: Lagoon 400 Wiring Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbinbi View Post
Someone should correct me if I am wrong, but I think the power should be the same in the sense that in NA if your device is using 4 amps st 110V, then it would use 2A at 220V, so the same power draw. So if you are limited to half the amps on the wire with 220, you might be able to use the same size wire. I am not an electrician. I also dont know if my 15A breaker on my 110 boat is a 7A breaker in the EU.

Its the amps that is the problem. More amps needs thicker wire, the higher the voltage, the less the amps. That is the reason why battery cable has to be so bit. Low voltage, but a ton of AMPS.

At 15amp breaker is a 15amp breaker no matter the voltage, although usually rated for peak voltage due to other reasons.

Simple calculation to help understand a bit more

1000w Air conditioner at 110v = 1000/110 = 9 amps
1000w Air conditioner at 220v = 1000/220 = 4.5 amps

In either case, the air conditioner still draws 1000w of power, but due to voltage, the 220v only pulls 4.5 amps and doesn't require as thick of wire as the 9 amps if the same conditioner was running 110v.

Now think about that same AC running 12v. 1000/12 = 83 amps. You would need a 100amp breaker to be able to run the same AC unit of 12v some some crazy thick wire.


Just purchased 2010 Lagoon 400 has been converted to 110v, but I am also unsure if the factory cable is thick enough to carry 15amps, i will check when I get back to it. I might just run all new cabling for the outlets just to be extra safe.
treadlite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2020, 04:27   #7
Registered User

Join Date: May 2020
Location: Florida
Boat: Lagoon 400
Posts: 14
Re: Lagoon 400 Wiring Question

Thanks
fthurlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2020, 09:09   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 104
Re: Lagoon 400 Wiring Question

curious to hear if wiring IS standard on lagoons/specific models/years or not at all?
__________________

AndrewA2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
lagoon, lagoon 400, wiring

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
400: Lagoon 400 or 400 S2 Big Joe Bob Lagoon Catamarans 20 11-01-2015 14:12
For Sale: Brand New NAIS-400 AIS Transceiver - Class B & NSPL-400 mcerdos Classifieds Archive 2 15-12-2014 17:47

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:08.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.