Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-06-2020, 16:12   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 10
Old B&G autopilot

Hey all, I have a full Hydro B&G instruments which all work fine so really do not want to replace any which means keeping to NMEA 0183 if possible. Now ehre is my issue:

I have owned the boat for a bit over a year and the B&G T1 ram (blue) failed on the delivery home. The seals failed and they dont make the seal kit anymore. So I went to a hydraulic place and they replaced the seals, bench tested fine, but failed about 12 hours into a passage (not difficult conditions).

From what i understand from the old owner the pilot was original from the boat (47ft Alu fast mono cruiser ~ 14t) which would make it 20 years old. Good effort. Given the T1 is on the borderline of the boat size I found a T2 ram (black) and thought this would be a good upgrade to increase reliability for our upcoming 2 year cruise through Pacific.

So I installed the T2 but didnt work to push the rudder at all (can hear it work but no movement). So some more reading and I had to upgrade the computer to the ACP2 rather than the ACP1. Found one online and installed and again the ram activates but wont push the rudder.

I ran through the dockside commissioning and the rudder indicator appears to be working (full port 1.5 v - midships 2.31 v full stb 3.12 v) but when activating the rudder time, I get no movement and error 103 which is no response from the rudder indicator, but this is probably because the rudder is not moving.

My next move is to make sure that the wires from the ACP2 to the T2 are the correct size for the load going through them, but any other advice would be very welcome...

Can you do a factory reset on a Hydro pilot?
The B&G T2 manual suggests I should be using the NAC computer but I thought that the linear drive should work for any as long as the output voltage is correct.

I really do not want to have to go to the NAC computer because then its then needing to upgrade the pilot controller to Triton which are all NMEA 2000, which then means it wont take wind input as 0183 meaning I wont be able to use the autopilot via wind angle...

Any suggestions?
__________________

dralyagmas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2020, 16:37   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: The boat - New Bern, NC, USA; Us - Kingsport, TN, USA
Boat: 1988 Pacific Seacraft 34
Posts: 956
Re: Old B&G autopilot

I use one of these to move my NMEA 0183 wind and depth data to my newer NMEA 2000 system. All my instruments are Simrad. https://www.simrad-yachting.com/simr...183-converter/
__________________

wsmurdoch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2020, 16:39   #3
Registered User
 
Exile's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Land of Disenchantment
Boat: Bristol 47.7
Posts: 4,792
Re: Old B&G autopilot

Dave Bourque @Precision Marine. (RI, USA). (401) 662-7317‬
Exile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2020, 20:26   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 10
Re: Old B&G autopilot

Quote:
Originally Posted by Exile View Post
Dave Bourque @Precision Marine. (RI, USA). (401) 662-7317‬
Thanks but I am in Australia...

Most B&G people here just want to sell me new stuff
dralyagmas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2020, 21:57   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 3,004
Re: Old B&G autopilot

Maybe the new ram is 24v instead of 12v? 12v to a 24v clutch may not activate it?

.your smaller pilot should still move a big ram. But it might blow the fuse. As the smaller ecu will have smaller current capacity. The fact that both don’t move it. Leads me to the ram.

You should be able to move the ram by putting power straight to it. With no pilot. That’s how you test it. If it has a clutch. You’ll have to power it too to test.

When the pilot is engauged, can you still turn the wheel? You should be able to know if the clutch is engauged or not.


You can intragrate nmea 183 wind data to the new 2000 pilot easily with a converter if you end up with a new pilot.
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 06:00   #6
Registered User
 
Exile's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Land of Disenchantment
Boat: Bristol 47.7
Posts: 4,792
Re: Old B&G autopilot

Quote:
Originally Posted by dralyagmas View Post
Thanks but I am in Australia...

Most B&G people here just want to sell me new stuff
Your symptoms, incl. the 103 fault code for the rudder sensor, sound similar to issues I've recently experienced (and finally resolved) with a similar B&G system. After spending a lot of time troubleshooting the electronics, mine turned out to be leaky seals and air in my ram which a local hydraulic shop was unable to properly repair (after 3 attempts). The mfg. for these rams - old & new - is Hy-Pro in the UK. I contacted them via e-mail and they promptly responded with the authorized repair facility in the US who completely resolved the issues by rebuilding my ram. It wasn't cheap (~$650US) but far less expensive than a new ram (~$2000US). Perhaps they know of a repair facility in Aussie.

https://www.hypro.co.uk
__________________

Exile is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
autopilot

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: Cruising Guides FL, Abaco & Exumas dworkman General Classifieds (no boats) 0 12-04-2020 12:34
New Autopilot Control, old Autopilot motor Pablo Danic Marine Electronics 3 28-06-2016 23:28
Buy a "new" old boat or an "old" old boat?? jimp1234 General Sailing Forum 29 08-01-2016 02:12
CPT autopilot plus Monitor windvane or just W-H autopilot? graydog Construction, Maintenance & Refit 9 03-05-2015 22:21
Old B&G autopilot connected to new wind instruments? Eyr Marine Electronics 8 19-07-2014 13:29

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:14.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.