Cruisers & Sailing Forums (https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/)
-   Crew Archives (https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f138/)
-   -   Crew Wanted: North Atlantic Crossing (https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f138/north-atlantic-crossing-73298.html)

tate 17-12-2011 12:57

North Atlantic Crossing

I am looking for crew for North Atlantic crossing starting May 2012. Some offshore experience required. Well equipped 50 foot cutter. Leaving from Chesapeake Bay to Norway and beyond. Stepping stone route.

doclisner 09-01-2012 11:27

Re: North Atlantic crossing

Hello,

I am a semi-retired physician who has a 26' wood Falmouth Cutter built in
Cornwall in 1948. Most of my sailing experience is off Vancouver Island in
the Gulf and San Juan Islands. I'm wondering how long a voyage you envision. I am 66, love sailing and look forward to hearing from you.

John Gordon

Cliff 09-01-2012 12:51

Hi Tate,

Would like to hear more of your plans ane of your boat.

54 year old retired firefighter/paramedic. Four trans-Atlantics, a trans-Pac, full e&w coasts of the US and Mexico, et al. Have all my own gear, stand my own watches.
CV and extensive references on request.

Cliff

webejammin 09-01-2012 12:58

Here's a 45 min documentery on sailing the north Atlantic from Annapolis to England hope this is some help Gemini 105Mc - Transatlantic Voyage on Vimeo

Cliff 09-01-2012 14:54

Please check your PM's.

doclisner 09-01-2012 18:25

Hello Cliff,

Thanks for the video link; they had a great sail! I'd love to hear more about your boat. Sounds like I would need a month altogether to fly out, sail and fly back.
Love those big waves!

John

webejammin 10-01-2012 01:38

Remember the boat your sailing probably won't do 18 kt's surfing waves and 15.5 kt's motorsailing in a 20 kt breeze or sailing a steady 10 kt's in a 20 breeze. I love the part near the end where there near the shores of England motorsailing at 15.5 kt's in a 20 kt breeze.