Cruisers & Sailing Forums (https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/)
-   Meets & Greets (https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f9/)
-   -   Hello from NC (https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f9/hello-from-nc-244415.html)

tna9001 28-12-2020 15:29

Hello from NC

Hello All,

I'm heading to Roatan in a few weeks to train as a dive instructor and plan on traveling the Caribbean to teach and explore. I've always been enamored with the ocean and the pursuit of mastery of the sea. I'm a retired airline pilot so I've got tremendous respect for mother nature and while I understand meteorology I know things are much different on the water than in the air. I'd like to get some perspective about the skill level required to navigate the Caribbean, is it feasible for someone to take classes and instruction to then be competent enough to safely learn the ropes on their own? I'm inclined towards power vs sail and would have a budget of $200k or less, I've read a bit about the Ranger R-29, would that be a suitable boat?

Thank's in advance for the replies.

LittleWing77 28-12-2020 18:44

Re: Hello from NC

Welcome to the Forum, TNA!

Those are a lot of questions for you to research as you teach and explore in the Caribbean.

Talk to sailors and ask them about their stories. You'll learn a lot.

Fair winds,
LittleWing77 :biggrin:

GordMay 29-12-2020 04:06

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, tna.
The Ranger Tugs come with well-placed cup holders.

tna9001 29-12-2020 07:03

Quote:

Originally Posted by GordMay (Post 3308652)
Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, tna.
The Ranger Tugs come with well-placed cup holders.

Thank you! Well, that's all I need to know:smile:

Are there any general guidelines for maintenance reserves, like on an hourly basis?

tna9001 29-12-2020 07:07

Quote:

Originally Posted by LittleWing77 (Post 3308434)
Welcome to the Forum, TNA!

Those are a lot of questions for you to research as you teach and explore in the Caribbean.