Cruisers & Sailing Forums (https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/)
-   Meets & Greets (https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f9/)
-   -   Greetings from Dublin! (https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f9/greetings-from-dublin-240931.html)

DoctorCaptain 06-10-2020 12:50

Greetings from Dublin!

Hello All,

My name is Ian based in Dublin, Ireland. I am just learning to sail with plan to begin a life of remote working and cruising with my partner Nichola. We are in the process of buying our first boat and the daunting task of re-registering under an Irish flag which sounds long-winded.

The site has been a great resource to date, I'm sure you'll see plenty from me over the years as I learn how to fix everything.

See you on the boards and hopefully out on the water sometime soon.

:thumb:

ilCigno 06-10-2020 15:40

Re: Greetings from Dublin!

Welcome Ian, you have great plans.
Greetings back from The Netherlands!

Celestialsailor 06-10-2020 22:23

Welcome Ian from California.

Emmalina 07-10-2020 00:14

Did my ICC in Dublin had a great time. Welcome

ahun 07-10-2020 00:21

Welcome! There are easier and better ways to register a boat in the EU than in Ireland. I know, I tried it and gave up (kind of on principle, if they make it hard I won't fight it...)

DoctorCaptain 07-10-2020 00:55

Hi Everyone,

@Emmalina We are just in the middle of ours, it's been great so far. 30+Kn wind with flat sea :biggrin:

@ahun Yes, after some research I have found this out. I will probably go with one of the islands. I was hoping to have to tricolor fly as I sail the world, I suppose the port spreader will do...

Hanksy 07-10-2020 01:41

I'm out on the bay this week teaching a course. Probably see you out there! Lovelly sailing weather

GordMay 07-10-2020 01:43

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, Ian.

Superseapig 07-10-2020 09:29

Hi Ian!