Cruisers & Sailing Forums (https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/)
-   Marine Electronics (https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f13/)
-   -   Simrad Vulcan to understand Ray St6000 autopilot (https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f13/simrad-vulcan-to-understand-ray-st6000-autopilot-237660.html)

vechnyak 28-07-2020 10:45

Simrad Vulcan to understand Ray St6000 autopilot
 
I'm using Simrad Vulcan 9" plotter and a Raymarine St6000+ autopilot. They are connected via ShipModule Mini multiplexer/n2k converter. The plotter is able to control the autopilot direction when course is plotted and autopilot listens and obeys. Unfortunately, I am not able to do basic corrections like +10/-10 for example, from the simrad screen because it does not "see" that it has an autopilot. It simply puts out GPRMC/GPRMB sentences and the autopilot picks it up.

Does anyone know what Simrad is looking for in order to recognise it has an autopilot connected?

Thanks

val

mikedefieslife 28-07-2020 11:14

Re: Simrad Vulcan to understand Ray St6000 autopilot
 
You never will be. They cannot talk to eachother in that manner. Raymarine also uses proprietary sentences.

There is a signalk plugin though that will let you control a Raymarine SeatlkNG and older Seatalk autopilot in a browser or mobile app. There is also an OpenCPN plugin for the older Raymarine pilots.

vechnyak 28-07-2020 11:24

Re: Simrad Vulcan to understand Ray St6000 autopilot
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mikedefieslife (Post 3196232)
You never will be. They cannot talk to eachother in that manner. Raymarine also uses proprietary sentences.

There is a signalk plugin though that will let you control a Raymarine SeatlkNG and older Seatalk autopilot in a browser or mobile app. There is also an OpenCPN plugin for the older Raymarine pilots.

Well...part of it is already working just fine. The plotter is sending out GPRMC/GPRMB sentences and autopilot is responding by changing course.

mikedefieslife 28-07-2020 11:58

Re: Simrad Vulcan to understand Ray St6000 autopilot
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by vechnyak (Post 3196240)
Well...part of it is already working just fine. The plotter is sending out GPRMC/GPRMB sentences and autopilot is responding by changing course.

Every brand chartplotter when mixed with another brand autopilot will allow you to plot a route with way points then hit track on the autopilot to follow the route.

What you cannot do with mixed brands is to control the autopilot from the plotter. By control I mean start and stop the pilot. Tell it to tack. Change pilot mode etc...

vechnyak 28-07-2020 12:33

Re: Simrad Vulcan to understand Ray St6000 autopilot
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mikedefieslife (Post 3196263)
Every brand chartplotter when mixed with another brand autopilot will allow you to plot a route with way points then hit track on the autopilot to follow the route.

What you cannot do with mixed brands is to control the autopilot from the plotter. By control I mean start and stop the pilot. Tell it to tack. Change pilot mode etc...

Got it, thanks. Real bummer, I wonder what those sentences are and if there was any way of converting them.

mikedefieslife 28-07-2020 12:39

Re: Simrad Vulcan to understand Ray St6000 autopilot
 
I'd be interested to know that too. The Raymarine ones are known hence the OpenCPN plugin, and Signalk plugins. Yacht Devices also include the proprietary Raymarine sentences in their NMEA2000 to wifi gateways.

I don't think the Simrad ones are, or what exactly Simrad needs to see to know it's talking to a Simrad Autopilot.

Once that is know, it is probably possible to use Signalk and Node Red to convert Raymarine to Simrad and vice-a-versa.

ewishki 29-07-2020 08:21

Re: Simrad Vulcan to understand Ray St6000 autopilot
 
So I am buying a cat that has the RM ST6002. During sea trial the surveyor noted this: Raymarine ST6002 Smart pilot control head: Unit powered up but screen damaged. Course computer & compass not sighted. Type 2 drive. Autopilot powers up but was not
operational on the sea trial.

Boat also does not have a radar. So after a lot of research I think I am going to go with Furuno radar, MFD and compass. Based on this thread I am now wondering if I should stick with RM since my auto pilot is a RM product. Is it better to do that in the long run?

Also from what I have found RM doesn't support the ST6002 anymore with parts. So I think I have to find a used head unit to fix the broken display.

Thanks for any info for a total noob to all of this.

mikedefieslife 29-07-2020 11:04

Re: Simrad Vulcan to understand Ray St6000 autopilot
 
Furono have the best RADARs out there. I think it's a good choice.

It doesn't really make sense to choose you new equipment to work with an old system. Even if you bought a modern Raymarine MFD and RADAR you would need a Seatalk to SeatlkNG adapter to get it talking to the ST6002.

The type2 drive is neither here nor there, it's just a motor and will work with any autopilot box that can give it enough power.

Nothing wrong with the ST6002, but if you're starting a fresh like it seems with most things, you might as well just replace it for a modern autopilot.

vechnyak 30-07-2020 06:42

Re: Simrad Vulcan to understand Ray St6000 autopilot
 
This doesnt change anything but i just realized I called it Simrad. My display is actually *B&G*. I know they are the same company but I should have checked it before posting.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 14:11.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.


ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.