Cruisers & Sailing Forums (https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/)
-   Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar (https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f14/)
-   -   Troubleshooting Drained batteries and Dead Charger. (https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f14/troubleshooting-drained-batteries-and-dead-charger-226232.html)

Santiano 07-11-2019 20:52

Troubleshooting Drained batteries and Dead Charger.

Hey all,

I'm just beginning to learn about electrical systems, and would appreciate any pointers yous can give.

I'm connected to shore power at a marina, have a ProSport 6 amp battery charger, and a 12-volt house bank. I have not gotten around to installing a separate starter battery, which I am now regretting. That's a project that will have to happen soon.

I arrived at the boat this evening to find that lights were dim and the fresh water pump was barely turning over. I went to the batteries to check for loose connections and found a negative terminal sparking where the charger was connected. Without turning the charger off, I rearranged and tightened the connection to the negative terminal. The terminal sparked as I did so, and the charger light went from "batteries full" to dead. No lights.

Where on Earth do I start the diagnostic? I cannot find any trip or reset on the charger. It plugs into an AC outlet and runs off the shore power. My outlets connect directly to the AC shore power, and still work fine, but all the built-in DC electronics are nearly dead.

I heartily appreciate any direction you can give me.

Cheers,

Santiano.

rbk 07-11-2019 21:00

Re: Troubleshooting Drained batteries and Dead Charger.

Put a multimeter on the battery at the posts and see if thereís a difference. Follow the cable/wire and check for corrosion and breaks on both red and black lines.

billknny 07-11-2019 21:11