Cruisers & Sailing Forums (https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/)
-   Dollars & Cents (https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f128/)
-   -   Buying a boat in an LLC (https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f128/buying-a-boat-in-an-llc-184274.html)

Pebbs2200 04-05-2017 16:41

Buying a boat in an LLC

Hi,
I'm new to CF and hoping y'all can help.
We're making an offer on a boat that's in a LLC. Is it worth buying the LLC as well? The boat is the only asset. I've done a little research online and have had a brief conversation w/an attorney. What I've learned is that we would save on sales tax but pay $800 a year to the Secretary of State (California). What are the pros and cons? Why is this done?
Thanks!!

Calif.Ted 04-05-2017 16:52

Re: Buying a boat in an LLC

People I know have used an LLC when the boat was used for charters due to personal liability concerns.

belizesailor 04-05-2017 16:53

Wow, $800 a year...everything is more expensive in Cali.

If you do choose to buy the LLC be sure it is in good standing with the State and has no outstading judgements/liabilties...otherwise you are buying those too! And get a written contract to that effect so you have some recourse if something pops up.

You can of course easily form a brand new shiny LLC and avoid any such surprises. Then buy the boat in the name of the new LLC.

Having the boat in an LLC provides more legal protection in the event of a large liability claim...thats the primary advantage.

How do you plan to use the boat (recreational or commercial)?

Pebbs2200 04-05-2017 17:16

We plan on recreational use. Thanks!

belizesailor 04-05-2017 17:22

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pebbs2200 (Post 2385865)
We plan on recreational use. Thanks!

Holding in an LLC is not as adventageous for recreational use, but could still provide more legal protection if something bad happened....in the law suit happy USA. A little added piece of mind.