Cruisers & Sailing Forums (https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/)
-   Monohull Sailboats (https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f47/)
-   -   Starting to plan for a Cruising Life (https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f47/starting-to-plan-for-a-cruising-life-177493.html)

jakinchitown 22-12-2016 16:50

Starting to plan for a Cruising Life

I have been sailing the Great Lakes since I was 10 years old in day sailers, from 11-30 feet. I understand the concepts of sailing, some about harbors and electronics, but am unsure how I should start looking at and planning for a boat I would live on. That is 5-8 years away, but want to get started.

Any suggestions?

Thanks

brianlara 3 22-12-2016 16:59

Re: Starting to plan for a Cruising Life

Welcome Matey.
But do tell us about things like boat purchase budget, distance of horizons, crew numbers, monthly living expences / anticipated costs.
You're going to love this place.

GordMay 23-12-2016 04:48

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, Jack.

jakinchitown 23-12-2016 10:17

Brianlara3, I would like to keep my boat purchase cost around $200k, I am planning on having it rigged for sailing shorthanded (by myself), I'm not sure I'll do an ocean crossing, but I'd like to be capable. My plan is to spend summers in Michigan on the Great Lakes and take the St Lawrence to the Atlantic down to FL or Caribbean for Winter. I would like total living expenses to be $50k per year, with repairing/upgrading major systems separate from that.

Does that sound realistic?

RickG 23-12-2016 10:29

How much time do you plan to be in a marina vs. mooring/anchor?

We're starting off for a couple of years in a marina while still working. That pushes down the priority of better battery bank, power generation, power conservation, water desal, storm preparation...

Cheers, RickG

SVNeko 23-12-2016 10:40

save every penny
Mr. Money Mustache — Early Retirement through Badassity

Mike OReilly 23-12-2016 10:41