Cruisers & Sailing Forums (https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/)
-   Boat Ownership & Making a Living (https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f67/)
-   -   Making a living while crusing (https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f67/making-a-living-while-crusing-17666.html)

George Elliott 27-07-2008 14:58

Making a living while crusing

It is possible and it's not even that difficult. I spent 15 yrs in the Caribbean and am now in the Pacific. I'm an electrician and I've picked up refrigeration, watermakers, generators etc. I've always been a good mechanic from years of restoring old British sports cars. Now I'm in Pago Pago working in a tuna cannery. I figure I work somewhere between 40 - 50% of the time and right now my minimum wage is $20/hr clear, not a princely sum but enough to keep the cruising kitty showing signs of life. I've worked directly for other cruisiers but prefer to work for service companies (of which there are none here, hence the tuna cannery) The Caribe was loaded with work opportunities, heaps of boats and the average cruiser is less knowledgable now then in '92 when I started out from Canada. On the other hand boats are MUCH more dependable than they used to be. In response to another post I don't believe electronics are a viable option these days, they're usually unrepairable unless you have the diagnostic gear and the appropriate board, wave soldered boards are usually not repairable. Canvas work is possible, Iused to do auto seats and have an industrial machine aboard, but no one will pay you $20/hr for sewing it's too competitive, there's simply too many people who can and do. Hope this is some help. Having a marketable set of skills is the key and finding work isn't too tough. In the 3rd world the orgizational skills often don't exist and supervisory jobs are often available. Good luck to all the struggling crusers out there. Fair winds. George

Hud3 27-07-2008 15:46

George,

Great post, as this is a topic of real interest on the Forum!