Cruisers & Sailing Forums (https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/)
-   Meets & Greets (https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f9/)
-   -   Hi from the Indian Ocean - South Africa (https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f9/hi-from-the-indian-ocean-south-africa-16943.html)

Alan N Crichton 04-07-2008 12:46

Hi from the Indian Ocean - South Africa

I have been diving for the past 15 years and progressed to mixed gas technical rebreathers. Love the sea ! Decided last year to take up sailing with my wife - passed our day skippers course and subsequntly purchased a new Lavranos Cross bow. I had been searching for a vessel for over 2 years even though I had not sailed but I knew I would. So right now I am building up sea miles every weekend and Wed evening ready for my coastal skippers. Plan is in 3 - 5 years to sail around the Indian Ocean and visit my son in Australia - become "Gypseas"

Found this site when searching for info

Hud3 04-07-2008 13:27

Good for you, Alan! Sounds like a good plan to me. Welcome to Cruisers Forum!

scallywag 04-07-2008 13:36

Welcome to Cruisers Forum. There are a number of knowledgeable people reading the forum. Any questions, just ask.
John

Wotname 04-07-2008 17:58

Welome from the other side of your local waters :)

SkiprJohn 11-07-2008 16:53

Aloha Alan,
Welcome aboard! Good to have you here.
Kind regards,
JohnL

off-the-grid 10-11-2008 09:30

Are you bringing the breather with you?

I'm a CCR diver in training and a cruiser in training, and REALLY trying to figure out how/if the 2 can go together...especially in more remote areas.

Alan N Crichton 10-11-2008 12:21

Rebreather and cruising

Quote:

Originally Posted by grunzster (Post 222650)
Are you bringing the breather with you?

I'm a CCR diver in training and a cruiser in training, and REALLY trying to figure out how/if the 2 can go together...especially in more remote areas.