Cruisers & Sailing Forums (https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/)
-   Construction, Maintenance & Refit (https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f55/)
-   -   Water leaks (https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f55/water-leaks-152280.html)

Shadowfaxcrusin 31-08-2015 15:25

Water leaks

Hi all has any one ever found a way to find leaks in their boat which are not obvious I have been chasing leaks for 5 years and can't find it :banghead:
I replaced windows and caulked the �� out of it :confused: the leak just keeps coming back, every time it rains .

Greenhand 31-08-2015 15:36

re: Water leaks

You will probably want to post this in a more appropriate category, but the important thing is to identify where your leak shows up in the boat and what else is connected to that spot. For example, if the water is actually coming into the boat at the port/hatch frames, is there a penetration above that point where water could be penetrating the deck or cabin top and seeping through to the window frame? Can you explore between your cabin top and your headliner in order to see if there are any signs of penetration there?

Oh, and while proper spelling is usually a plus, in this case, leak vs. leek makes a HILARIOUS image of leeks mysteriously growing on your boat :)

boatman61 31-08-2015 15:39

Was tempted to post a recipe for Cheese and Leek crusted Cottage Pie..:wink:

Cheechako 31-08-2015 16:00

Port? fixed windows? headliner?

Uncle Bob 31-08-2015 16:03

Quote:

Originally Posted by boatman61 (Post 1904335)
Was tempted to post a recipe for Cheese and Leek crusted Cottage Pie..:wink:

:biggrin: LOL.

You'r a braver man than I Gunga Din.

Cap Erict3 31-08-2015 16:17

Walk around on deck and seal all the maybes.

Wash deck.

Repeat.

------------------------------
Looking for another pretty place to work on the boat.

Cheechako 31-08-2015 16:26