Cruisers & Sailing Forums (https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/)
-   Meets & Greets (https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f9/)
-   -   Newbie in New Orleans (https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f9/newbie-in-new-orleans-116325.html)

msfxJeep 30-11-2013 08:39

Newbie in New Orleans

Hello from NOLA. I am new to sailing and getting a bit of a late start at it at 42. It's something I have wanted to do since I knew what a sailboat was. Now I am making a go at it. I'm taking lessons when work permits (I am an IT Infrastructure Manager for a media company).

For the record, I'm not running out to buy a boat (yet). I'm trying to start slow and learn a good foundation of basics.

Any tips or advice would be most welcome. Also anyone familiar with New Orleans, I would welcome some local tips.

MBLittle 30-11-2013 08:51

Quote:

Originally Posted by msfxJeep (Post 1403701)
Hello from NOLA. I am new to sailing and getting a bit of a late start at it at 42. It's something I have wanted to do since I knew what a sailboat was. Now I am making a go at it. I'm taking lessons when work permits (I am an IT Infrastructure Manager for a media company). For the record, I'm not running out to buy a boat (yet). I'm trying to start slow and learn a good foundation of basics. Any tips or advice would be most welcome. Also anyone familiar with New Orleans, I would welcome some local tips.

NOLA is by far my favorite city in America (San Antonio being a close second). Only tips on NOLA I have are keep eating the food! All day every single day! 7 minutes after you leave you'll be going through withdrawals with shakes and cold sweats :p. It's been almost a year since our last visit and we still mention how much we miss the food :p

shorebird 30-11-2013 08:52

Re: Newbie in New Orleans