Cruisers & Sailing Forums (https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/)
-   Marine Electronics (https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f13/)
-   -   VHF GPS/ B+G Network Interface (https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f13/vhf-gps-b-g-network-interface-11183.html)

JB 23-11-2007 08:14

VHF GPS/ B+G Network Interface
 
I just installed a new VHF with DSC and a GPS interface. I have B+G Network instrumentation. I have an NMEA that interfaces the instruments and autopilot with my computer and nav software (The Cap'n - no longer supported but I like it!). Can I simply splice into that to get the same GPS input for my new VHF?
Thanks!
JB

hellosailor 23-11-2007 11:23

JB-
In theory, maybe. The problem is that your NMEA bus may be carrying more than just GPS data "sentences" on it, and your VHF may not be able to filter out the rest, leaving it somewhere between confused and dumbfounded by the data coming in on the cable.
This is something you would need to contact the VHF maker and ask, unless you wanted to try it out and see whether anything went kerfluie. (Probably safe to try, but I'd be reluctant to do so when I could call the radio maker instead.)

Nauticatarcher 23-11-2007 12:41

VHF should just read sentence it wants and ignore the rest, VHF handbook should tell you what sentence it wants probably "RMC" so check that it is available, when i hooked up my icom vhf I took NMEA feed from autopilot but had a problem as it was changing sentence prefix from GP RMC to AP RMC and VHF wouldn't read it when I took feed straight from plotter all was well


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:03.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.


ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.