Cruisers & Sailing Forums (https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/)
-   Our Community (https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f129/)
-   -   Liveaboard Documentary? (https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f129/liveaboard-documentary-110159.html)

filmbuff 26-08-2013 16:31

Liveaboard Documentary?

Hey everyone!

So here's the deal, I'm a filmmaker, younger youtube generation (Boo), but I've made traditional features as well. I've been obsessed with the idea of living aboard since I was 19 and in the army and after 6 years of idiocy my brain finally decided to connect those 2 dots...

Why not make a movie about the process?

We could set a timeline and destination, like a year to get to the Bahamas, then film the whole process (boat purchase, moving aboard, learning to sail, explaining to family, working from the boat, and eventual push off), we could do interviews with longer term liveaboards to talk about the lifestyle, the ups and downs...

Best case it could introduce a new generation of people to the water, at the very least it's something to show families to help them grasp WHY someone would chose a life like that.

Still working the specifics together, but what do you guys think? looking for feedback from anyone; please give opinions!

scoobert 26-08-2013 16:45

Re: Liveaboard Documentary?

there are only about 8,000 of these on youtube now....

Teknav 26-08-2013 17:02

Hiya Scoob! :thumb: ++ If liveaboards were so glamorous... I'd better not say anything more about it! :D

Mauritz
Trying to behave, but it is so difficult!

o_q 26-08-2013 17:10

Quote:

Originally Posted by Teknav (Post 1323036)
Hiya Scoob! :thumb: ++ If liveaboards were so glamorous... I'd better not say anything more about it! :D

Tell us more :popcorn:

svseachange 26-08-2013 17:24

I think it is a wonderful idea. When you live aboard there is always a little drama, adventure and interesting characters. Great material for a film. Before I lived aboard I would have paid to see such a film.