Cruisers Forum
 


Rudderless will receive many thanks

Rudderless Rudderless is offline

Registered User

About Me

  • About Rudderless
    Location
    Ontario
    Occupation
    I is a engineer
    Interests
    Canoeing/camping, cooking, reading, brewing, farming, blacksmithery
    Biography
    tl;dr: Not much experience but lots of enthusiasm.

    I haven't been on a sailboat since I was a teenager, though I did do some windsurfing here in Ontario and also out on English Bay when I lived in Vancouver, so I'd say I'm back to being a newbie since I'm now 46. I do understand the physics behind sailing and I'm going to sign up for a local CanSail 1/2 course, but I've only ever sailed with a single sail. I'm going to see if I can crew for some races as I'm in London and can get to Erie, Ontario, or Huron in 2 hours or less. I would like to travel much more and visit many different cultures, which is one of the reasons I'm interested in cruising. I've spent some time in powerboats on the lakes around here but they've never really appealed to me at all, but sailing has always been something I've wanted to do. In my youth I loved speed and I spend a few seasons racing motorcycles but I found that the only thing that goes faster than a sport bike is the money.

    I've done a fair bit of canoe tripping over the years with most of my trips in the back country for a week or more and I love the solitude. I love cooking and the search for quality ingredients has led me to learn to garden and raise my own animals for meat. I've done a lot of canning and bought a dehydrator a few years ago to make my own dehydrated camping meals. More recently, I bought a sausage grinder and absolutely love it.

    I've always been interested in learning new skills, especially ones that help me make good quality products for very little money. I love brewing all-grain beer, making mead, cider and distilling where legal. I make a killer pulled pork.

    Professionally, I'm a mess ;) I started university in mechanical engineering but, after taking a few years off to race, I went back and got a degree in civil, which was very interesting but didn't make me employable in the 90's. My work experience includes electric vehicle control systems, electric motor R&D, sales, transportation engineering and planning, mould remediation, home renos, farming, financial planning and a few other areas. I'm pretty good with my hands and, while I may not be the sharpest hammer in the drawer, I can usually figure stuff out if I've got a manual. I don't seem to be able to learn effectively by listening; I learn better by watching and best by doing. I'm horrible at languages (I've left many French teachers in tears over the years) but I've found that people in most countries are very patient when I murder their language because I always make an effort. I moved to Germany to work when I was in school without knowing any German or, in fact, having a job, but it was a fantastic experience and a great way to learn the language. That experience left me eager to experience more cultures. My greatest accomplishment is my daughter, but I'm sure she deserves most of the credit. She's in college right now for another couple of years and she'll likely move around a fair bit early in her

Statistics

Total Posts
General Information
  • Last Activity: 23-05-2017 07:38
  • Join Date: 03-02-2010
  • Referrals: 0


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:39.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.