Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Looking4Neptune's Profile Picture
Looking4Neptune will receive many thanks

Looking4Neptune Looking4Neptune is offline

Registered User

Profile Comments

Showing Profile Comments 1 to 2 of 2
  1. jbrooksbar
    Sorry for the delay, what was the length? I have a friend dropping off his Yanmar at Pacwest Monday and could pick up or drop off?
  2. DreamCatcher37
    Your plans this year? Bryon

About Me

  • About Looking4Neptune
    Vessel Make/ model
    2010 Leopard 46
    Vessel Name
    Calista
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Occupation
    Retired software developer, AI, Manager and VP Engineering
    Interests
    Anything water related, technology, hiking, reading, politics, economics, science.
    Biography
    I retired in July 2015 (age 59) and am living in San Diego and updating equipment on my 2010 Leopard 46 catamaran. We will do the Baja HaHa Nov 2020 and head to the S Pacific in spring 2021.

    I crewed on a Catana 42 from Athens to Sardinia in Sept 2015 and an FP Lipari 41 from La Rochelle France to Tortola in Oct 2015. In Nov/Dec 2015 I piloted a Shuttleworth 44 sailing from the Bahamas to Puerto Rico. In 2016 (April - July) I was crew on an Amel Super Maramu (51 ft monohull), going through the Panama Canal and then sailing across the South Pacific to Australia, hitting many islands along the way. I have done many day sails and some 'just for fun' races on the San Francisco Bay and did the ASA 101 class in 2007. In June/July 2015 I got the RYA Day Skipper and Coastal Skipper certs in the Canary Islands and did a few more days sailing in that area.

    I grew up in "Silicon Valley" near San Francisco. Lots of sports as a kid and through college (University of California Berkeley, University of Virginia, degrees in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science and Masters in Biomedical Engineering). Career mostly in SF Bay area, building, training and managing software development teams for big companies like Amazon and Logitech to small companies including my own startups. Also lived/worked in India, Germany, Malaysia and Kenya.

    I was a boy scout and for 6 years a boy scout adult leader, teaching boys camping and outdoor skills, knots, map and compass, stars, sailing, swimming and many other skills. I have two adult sons, both engineers, one in SF, one in Boston. My girl and I bought a Leopard 46 catamaran together in 2019. We are now outfitting it to do the Baja HaHa in 2020 and plan to head to the South Pacific in April 2021.

Statistics

Total Posts
Profile Comments
General Information
  • Last Activity: 11-06-2020 08:31
  • Join Date: 20-12-2014
  • Referrals: 0

Friends

Showing Friends 1 to 1 of 1


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 15:07.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.