Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Families, Kids and Pets Afloat
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-08-2010, 09:59   #1

Boat: roberts spray 27f
Nurse, Cruising and (Hopefully) Working

HI , my wife and i have been sailing for a couple of years now ,and are currently doing are yacht masters part time . We allso have a 2 year old.
We both have had enough of the daily grind of work . After my wife had a near fatal car accident we have decided to sell up and buy a yacht to live on. We should have enough to buy a decent blue water cruising boat (under $120k) and have some savings. My wife is a nurse and im not realy qualified in anything but handy on boats . We would like to cruise around australia and work on the way on a long term bases . Yes everyone sais were nuts and irresponsible, but the house is on the market now were committing. any nurses cruising and living on boats and worken on the way after some moral support for my wife
regards azzalane
azzalane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2010, 10:06   #2

yes ill be keeping the boat and be a home schooling dad
Old 21-08-2010, 10:15   #3

Boat: Long range motor cruiser
Welcome to the forum, lots of good advice here, then again, you get people like me who throw in their 2 cents worth as well.
You don't say where your from but I assume Australia. Your wife will find work just about wherever you go in Australia. Work permits get a bit tricky in other places or take a while to come through. For yourself, it's possible to pick up casual work along the way but don't count on it.
Oh yes, I'm a retired Nurse. I never had a problem getting work in most places I visited or stayed for a while. There's quite a few other Nurses and Doctors on the list so she won't be long in finding some support.

P.