Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-03-2018, 05:27   #1

family monohull length advice

Hello cruisers,

I am new to the cruising world, but i could really use some advice.

My wife and I (and 3 high school children and father) are planning to take the off shore plunge to live on a monohull. 2 of the children will drop off the boat in 4 years as they head to college. We will start in the Caribbean as I develop the children's sailing skills. We will possibly passage the Pacific in a few years if everyone is comfortable.

I am at a loss as to how large a boat I should be looking at in order to be able to hold everything we will need for such a large crew.

We are currently exploring 45-55 ft boats with 3+ cabins. Any advice is very welcome.

Thx
Brad
derexer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2018, 05:41   #2
Senior Cruiser

Community Sponsor
Cruisers Forum Supporter

pirate Re: family monohull length advice

Two important questions..
What's your budget..
What's your experience on 50ft+ boats.

Something like this would be ideal if your budget runs to it..
http://www.yachtworld.com/core/listi...g_id=1469&url=

It was a dark and stormy night and the captain of the ship said.. "Hey Jim, spin us a yarn." and the yarn began like this.. "It was a dark and stormy night.."
boatman61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2018, 05:45   #3

Boat: Boatless
Re: family monohull length advice

I have a Tayana 55...great seaboat and live aboard. 4 cabins, 3 heads and 2 showers a total of 7 bunks with a large aft master suit. Large refrigerator and freezer.

She will be for sale when I get her back to the US in September after she has competed a circuit of the Pacific...Panama to Polynesia, to Tonga, to New Zealand to Fiji to Micronesia to Japan to Alaska to Seattle. Details and pic available if interested.

I will teach you and your family to sail and cruise off-shore if needed.