Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-06-2017, 07:44   #1

Boat: 2000 Donzi Z275
Water Tank question

I am new to cruising and power boating. I came on this forum to pick the brains of intrepid sailors like you guys .

Our Donzi sat for a long time before we bought it. We have flushed out the water tank multiple times. What do you'all do for your water. Several people told me they use bottled water. Don't really want to do that, not much storage room. I plan on using the tank water for cooking and drinking.
Sparks5501 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-2017, 10:59   #2

Boat: 58' Sedan Bridge
Re: Water Tank question

We pre-filter water into the tanks first, after having sanitized the tanks themselves, and the hoses, etc.

Search for posts by Peggie Hall -- Head MIstress, Peg Hall -- and Thinwater about sanitization.

The two filter elements we use in line are dual-gradient 25 micron/1 micron Pentek DGD-2501 sediment filter and then another Penteck (FloPlus or some such) .5 micron carbon block... both in household filter housings. Thinwater has posted about filters, too...

(Our onboard supply is sometimes filtered some more by a pitcher filter -- e.g., Pur or Britta -- since that's an easy way to keep water cold in a fridge.)

Then we cycle that water often so it's constantly replaced; seldom use the shorewater connection.

-Chris
Old 27-06-2017, 13:28   #3

Boat: 2000 Donzi Z275

What do you do to sanitize the tank?
Sparks5501 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-2017, 14:43   #4

Community Sponsor

Boat: Mahe 36, Helia 44 Evo, MY 37
Sanitize a marine fresh water system

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparks5501 View Post
What do you do to sanitize the tank?
To sanitize a marine fresh water system and kill bacteria that may be present do the following: