Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-10-2015, 10:30   #1

Boat: O'Day 27
Propane Camping Range?

I'm new to sailing and even newer to living aboard. I need a range in my new boat, but I don't have $1200+ to drop on a Force 10. Is this Coleman range a terrible idea?

Coleman - Portable Camping Stove | Camp Stoves | Coleman - PORTABLE STOVE OVEN COMBO

I know the dangers of propane in enclosed areas and will, of course, take all necessary safety precautions. I will not be cooking while the boat is sailing, so I'm not worried about having anything gimballed (yet).

Thoughts? Anyone else done this?
Little Widgeon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2015, 11:08   #2

Boat: Cheoy Lee Offshore 38
Re: Propane Camping Range?

We have a similar stove on our Macgreggor 26x. Its located near the companion way. We use ours quite a bit, spending a week or more at a time on the boat, its gets used a least 2x per day.

I have been happy with ours. Nope, no gimbals. But for the gunkholing we do on the mac we don't need to cook underway.

One thing we do is to disconnect the propane when we are not actually using the stove. And, as previously stated, the stove is located port of the companion way. Plenty of ventilation. We also direct connect with no hoses, which I image could be a potential problem spot for leaking.

I can not say "this is perfectly safe" but we are sensible about it.
Sea Dreaming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2015, 12:20   #3
֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎