Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-05-2004, 17:45   #1

how much water per day

hello mates, I am new to leaving the florida coast,how much water per day should you alot for per person with half of crew woman and 6 day sail.Thanks chillers
Old 11-05-2004, 05:27   #2

Well, half a crew woman would need half the water of a normal crew woman, I guess

It really depends on how efficient you are at using water. On the low side, our family of 2 kids (maybe the same as a half woman crew?), one full woman crew and one full man crew could get by on one gallon per day total if dishes were washed in seawater, showers were in the ocean with a fresh water rinse from a sprayer, and everyone was careful.

On the other hand, with large tanks and a watermaker, the sky's (ocean's) the limit. A happy medium is probably 3-4 gallons per person per day.
Old 11-05-2004, 05:32   #3
Now on the Dark Side: Stink Potter.

Boat: Sea Hunt 234 Ultra
Depending on how thirsty you are...

Pretty much any boat should have big enough tanks for a 6 day cruise.

Ya said half the crew is women..?
How many crew? 20 people, half of them women, or just one couple?

I figure 7 to 8 gallons per day per person when we cruise the Bahamas....Seems to be plenty and never had any of the crew complain.
CSY Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2004, 08:32   #4

Our boat carries 100 gallons, and with the two of us being conservative and using fresh for showers we can go a month.

If it's hot, figure a gallon per person per day. You can get by with less, but you're only talking 6 days so you shouldn't have to worry too much.

Bring as much as you can carry and an extra jug or two just in case.
sadie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2005, 00:29   #5