Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-12-2008, 04:56   #1
CLOD

Boat: none
Beer Brewing Aboard

Anyone even brew thier own beer on the boat? Seems would be a great space saver. I've done this on land before and wonder if the boat motion would be a problem. I think would also have to do something other than bottles.
sailorboy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 05:06   #2

Boat: Sabre 30 Mark III - s/v Cloudman
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Lucas View Post
Anyone even brew thier own beer on the boat? Seems would be a great space saver. I've done this on land before and wonder if the boat motion would be a problem. I think would also have to do something other than bottles.
I was a professional brewer for years, and have thought about using some kind of brew system on a boat. But, decided it was not practical, or easy on a small boat (I sail a 30'). It could be done on a larger (LARGE) boat...but...

Brewing uses a LOT of water. The most important thing in brewing is keeping the equipment sparkling clean and sanitized. The amount of water used to do this would drain much/all of onboard water tanks. Plus, the small basic kits make 5 gallons of beer. To do that, one has to boil more than 5 gals for at least an hour...I would NOT want to chance a spill...can you imagine the danger in a small, enclosed environment, and the MESS??? And that's just the boil.

Storage, cleaning, mess, danger, water usage all point me to keep brewing on shore and bring a small keg on board for serving (I have a number of 2.5 & 5 gallon kegs I use).

s/v Cloudman
Sabre 30 Mark III
Norsksailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 07:32   #3

Boat: Northstar 1500, 35'
It would be a VERY BAD idea for me to have a keg of beer on my boat! I love my beer!