Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-08-2009, 23:33   #1

Boat: Tartan 37
USNA Short Course: Chapter One

Thought recycle/share some stuff I posted on in our Seamanship forum.

Most of you probably know this, but from some of the reactions of other skippers on the race course, apparently it's not common knowledge. So many times you know you're going to clear that stand-on vessel, but he freaks out anyway, alters course and protests. Those are the ones that don't know about bearing drift. And some of you may be self-taught and new to sailing. I've also talked with experienced sailors that think they just "know" if they're clear but can't express why. Their brain is looking at bearing drift without them knowing.

So, in short, you can use bearing drift to figure out if you're on a collision course with another vessel.
- Look past the boat in question and find a reference. The farther the better. Land is good, celestial bodies are best, a static cloud formation is okay. Pick something that stands out like a radio tower. A hand held compass is of course great, but isn't always handy and distracts you if you're at the helm.
- As you sail on a steady course, if the boat is drifting to the left, he will pass to the left. If the boat is steady on the reference, you will collide. In the Navy it's called "CBDR". Constant bearing Decreasing Range.