Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-05-2006, 15:23   #1

Send a message via Yahoo to jck339
RYA Yachtmaster

Anyone here with any experience with Yachtmaster training?

I think I'm about to pull the trigger and commit to 15 weeks sailing in Gibraltar. I've been sailing for about two years mostly on inland lakes. I have taken ASA classes out of Ft. Lauderdale and Stuart FL stopping just before the celestial nav and offshore classes.

My goal is to quicken the rate of gaining experience.

Curry
jck339 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2006, 07:27   #2

Boat: Moody 471
Send a message via Skype™ to Borden
Curry

I achieved the RYA Yachtmaster Offshore practical exam last November sailing out of Falmouth in Cornwall UK.
I'd been sailing for over 20 years, covered over 10,000 miles, crossed Biscay four times and taken all of the RYA theory exams including YM Ocean but never taken a practical exam. Anyhow, as we intend to set off on a circumnavigation next year and the RYA Ym Offshore is accepted as an International Certificate of Competence (a requirement in some countries) I decided to do it.

If you have any questions I'd be happy to help if I can.

Colin
Borden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2006, 09:38   #3

Boat: 1969 30 Mariner Sedan Cruiser
RYA Yachtmaster is the most recognized programs in the world, but it is primarily a UK thing. The standards are very high. I don't think you will regret taking it. My favourite boating magazine is out of England "Practical Boater" and it often runs articles helping people taking the different exams in the program. From reading these, I can guarantee you one of the questions on the exam will be determine tide height in a secondary port at a specific time.
rsn48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2006, 11:11   #4