Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-12-2013, 06:56   #1

Boat: 57' Laurent Giles Yawl
Headsail Leach Flutter

Hi Everyone,

The leach on my staysail and jib flutter when beating. On my last boat I could fix this tightening the sheet or the leach line, but in this case both are already way tight. I'm still learning this boat and am not sure what else to do? Maybe take a look at this video and tell me if there's anything obvious I am doing wrong: Video

In that moment, we were beating into ~20 knots with a double reefed main, partially furled jib, and hanked on staysail set. A batten had popped out of the main, so ignore that.

Any ideas?

Thanks.

Matt
Old 24-12-2013, 07:16   #2

Boat: Club Sailor; various
Re: Headsail leach flutter

Could be a blown sail. Move the genoa lead forward. Maybe that will help.
OldFrog75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2013, 07:41   #3
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

That's terrible. . . .not good for the sail or the sailing.

Unfortunately you don't really show us much of the sail. what I am seeing is a partially furled genoa and a staysail - is that correct?

Have you moved the genoa car forward as you furled it? If not, I would suggest that is probably the cause.

It looks like perhaps you have +20% of it rolled - is that about right? Do you have a foam or rope luff in the genoa to help the shape as you roll it?

Otherwise, how old is the sail and how old is the brown uv covering?

From what little I can see that does not look like a very efficient upwind sail combination (slot is very small and the two sails don't look like they are sheeting to the same leach curve). I personally would try one sail or the other.
estarzinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2013, 08:27   #4