Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-02-2013, 06:57   #1

Docking

I WILL BE A NEW POWERBOAT CRUISER OWNER IN THE SPRING ON LAKE ST. CLAIR. AS A NOVICE, I NEED SOME HELP FROM FELLOW BOATERS.

CAN I EFFECTIVELY DOCK AND MANEUVER A 30' CRUISER ALONE ? IF SO, ANY SUGGESTIONS WOULD BE HELPFUL, AND THANKS IN ADVANCE
SPORKY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 07:01   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Research vessel for a university, retired now.
Re: DOCKING

Absolutely you can learn how. I single hand a boat larger than yours frequently. First practice by throwing a fender over the side out in open water and practice coming along side your virtual dock. Try it in different wind and chop conditions so you get a feel for how your boat drifts sideways and comes to a stop. Then practice at a real dock where there are no other boats around that you might possibly hit. Practice at the dock with different wind speeds and different wind directions relative to the dock. Have someone onboard when you are practicing so they can jump in and help you if you need it.

Read a book on boat handling and practice, practice, practice applying those techniques. Eventually you will get good enough to where you feel comfortable enough to handle your boat in tight quarters around other boats.

Is your boat a twin or single screw? Is it an inboard or an I/O? There are different techniques for learning to handle each.

Life begins where land ends.
David M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 07:10   #3

Boat: It’s in French Polynesia now

I'd recommend getting in touch with the USPS (US Power Squadron) and get your boaters certificate, if you local requires it. If not you can probably still get some training that will be of great help.