Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-12-2007, 10:10   #1

Boat: 1962 28' Pearson Triton
Bermuda: To Go or Not to Go . . .

My 16 year old son and I are planning a three-week trip to Bermuda aboard our 28' Pearson Triton in June. We'll be departing from the Hampton Roads area in Virginia, 6-8 days each way, with about 7 days in Bermuda. We've been preparing the boat and buying gear. I feel confident in the boat's ability to make this passage. Although this will be my first offshore passage (other than aboard a 425' frigate while in the Navy), I've been sailing for 32 years and feel confident in my own ability to make the trip.

The other day, however, I started wondering about a few things. My biggest concern is this: What happens if, two days from (or out of) Bermuda, we lose the mast? I'm sure we could get to (or back to) Bermuda under a jury rig, but then what? 1. I'm only going to have three weeks of vacation time, so I wouldn't have time to remain in Bermuda for any reason. 2. I'm not going to have money to have a new or used mast shipped out. 3. I don't think I'll even have enough money for two airline tickets back to Virginia. (The mast and boom are original -- 45 years old. The standing rigging was replaced six years ago.)

Here's another thing I started thinking about. We have a tillerpilot, but no windvane. I figure we'll be spending a lot of time on the helm. With just two of us, I'm thinking we're going to be pretty tired when we get to Bermuda. Will we have the strength/stamina/desire to turn around in six or seven days and sail back?

Would those of you with a lot of experience/time at sea make this trip under these circumstances? I would greatly appreciate your thoughts on this matter. Thanks!
1962 Pearson Triton, #318
Triton318 is offline   Reply With Quote