Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-03-2012, 05:38   #1

Boat: 1973 Morgan O/I 33
Anchoring Outside Surf Breaks ?

Howdy,

I was wondering if any of the old salts here surf or have anchored outside of surf breaks? Whats the challenges and do you have any tips? I live on the east coast of florida and swell is rarely more than 4-6 ft. inshore. Water depth at what i would consider to be a safe distance from the break would be approx. 30ft. and a clean sand bottom. Im still new to this so any hints, tips, and advice is appreciated.
JDRichlen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2012, 06:10   #2

Boat: Oyster 53
Re: anchoring outside surf breaks?

You always anchor outside the surf break! Actually, guys I know who surf and sail tend to anchor outside the break (well outside) and surf for a couple of hours before moving the boat to a calmer anchorage/bay to drop the hook for the night.

Remember, if you are surfing those waves you won't be able to take a dinghy ashore in them - and if you were able to you won't be able to get back to the boat.

Dhillen
Old 28-03-2012, 06:14   #3

Boat: Tartan 30

Should be ok as long as you're not worried about the anchor dragging.
If it's a good surf break, the winds will be offshore so it'll be fine, atleast until the wind shifts and closes out the break. And you'll want enough time to get back to a proper anchorage before nightfall, unless you're like anchoring at night...
Old 28-03-2012, 06:17   #4

Boat: Shopping for a 30-ish cat