Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-07-2013, 11:43   #1

Boat: Westerly Jouster 21
18' Sloop to cross Strait of Georgia? Safe?

I'm considering sailing my 18' sloop across the Strait of Georgia, from Horseshoe Bay to Silva Bay, Gabriola Is. I'm fairly new to sailing and I'm looking for a reality check--is this a reasonably safe thing to do given my boat, knowledge, and experience?

I've been sailing this boat for a year around Howe Sound, 1 - 3 day trips, anchoring and mooring around Gambier and Keats. That and lots of dinghy sailing is the sum total of my experience. The highest wind I've had was 21 knots as reported at Point Atkinson. When the winds get above 15kts and I poke my nose out to the open Strait, the waves get bigger (4 feet maybe?) and the bow smashes a bit when beating up, making disconcerting sounds in the hull. Beam on, we roll around a lot but feels ok. When running, steerage feels limited but still in control. I've never sailed in any seas bigger than about 4' and winds more than 20kts.

I've read a fair bit now about sailing in general and storm tactics to try to make up for a lack of experience (Lin & Larry Pardey, Adlard Coles, Don Dodds). Then I practiced some of the things I read about. I rigged up a jiffy reefing system so I can reduce main by about 1/3. I've practiced reefing and putting up the storm jib in 10kts. Also practiced heaving-to and singled-handed MOB drills in about 10kts.