Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-10-2006, 13:14   #1

Boat: seward 24ft shamrock
windward islands

Hi boys and girls. I believe I am the newist member to this site, so I just
thought I would introduce myself.

My wife Eileen and I (Larry) have been sailing about 10 years now. I have to blame her for getting me involved in boating. We spend most of our boating time cruising northern Lake Michigan on our 24 ft Seaward. She is a teacher and I am a pharmacist.

Our next cruise will be in the windward islands. Have 2 weeks beginning December 5th. Our experience outside of Lake Michigan so far has been limited to the BVI, USVI, and the Spanish VI.

Any words of wisdom anyone would like to pass on to me regarding my upcoming adventure?

Lar
lcdittmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-2006, 13:19   #2

Boat: 15 foot Canoe
Aloha Larry,
Welcome aboard!! Wear sunscreen.
Kind Regards,
JohnL
SkiprJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-2006, 17:54   #3
Moderator Emeritus

Boat: Gozzard 36
Send a message via Skype™ to Pblais
Hang on tight. The blue sky and strong trade winds will carry you away. Going south is easier than going north.
Pblais is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-2006, 18:26   #4

Prepare Before

Definitely different than BVI/USVI................which islands are you visiting? What size boat? Crew?

In general, more open water, bigger hops 20+nm especially up north, wind compression @ island edges .....sounds like fun to me.

Doyle Cruising Guide & Web Site will be very helpful
http://www.doyleguides.com/aa%20site%20navigator.htm

Also Noonsite for Regulations/Info
http://www.noonsite.com/Countries
Chuteman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2006, 06:20   #5

Thanks for the welcome everyone.