Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-04-2015, 18:03   #1

pirate The Total Noobie

Hi everyone,

My wife and I have just recently join this forum, though we have never sailed on any yacht before, but have absolute intentions of doing so via owning our own. I have always had a almost hidden desire to be with all things nautical.

We have been living in a "Land yacht" (Our bus, see my album) for about 10 year now, so we are use to living in tighter confines (we started as a family of 6), moving around from place to place, mechanical breakdowns, constant maintenence working in tight spaces etc. We wish to keep moving, but have a desire towards the sea.

For those who may be wondering: it is a Leyland Atlantean, 72 Model built by Pressed Metalcorp LTD Sydney, for the Sydney City Transit, it has a Leyland 680 powerplus presently in it; approximately 215 bhp; Positioned transversely at the back. I believe it was eventually used as school bus out at Lismore. We found it in Bundaberg, Queensland, sold our business and purchased it "completely renovating" it and have lived in it since.

So we are wanting either to continue to renovate the bus again and the site it's now on and sell it, so as to be able to purchase a yacht of our own or possibly trade with someone who wishes to retire on the land due to possibly age, a change or illness.

Our bus and site aren't in 'mint' condition, but is still quite comfortably liveable, but as there are many boats out there that are also in a sense the same way, a trade wouldn't be such an insult. We can easily walk to anything necessary, even 10 minutes to the beach.