Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-06-2012, 18:25   #1

pirate The New Guy

Hello everybody I'm the new guy here. I'm a student at Texas A&M at college station. I currently do not own a boat but I am looking to buy a 25 to 30 footer . Any help with will be greatly appreciated. I'm eager to learn everything I can about sailing. I also loved to relax post my feet up and relax in my hammock and watch the waves roll in.
Ncsjones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2012, 18:48   #2

Welcome Aboard!! CF is a great source of info.
Bob on OTTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2012, 18:53   #3

Boat: Privilege 39 Catamaran, Exit Only
Re: The New Guy

My sailing dreams started when I was in college. I think that college is a great place to start. You might even end up sailing around the world.
maxingout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2012, 19:07   #4

Maxingout I hope your right I'm a biology major so the more things I can get under my belt the better asset I to some one. Heck I might sail around I'm just along for the ride.
Old 20-06-2012, 05:05   #5

Hi new guy

I just bought a 26 foot boat so im a month ahead of you.

Peice of advice ill give ya on buying a used boat on a budget is to keep it simple. When i was asking around to people in the know i was advised to get the boat pulled out of the water, to get a diver to inspect the bottom, to call up a surveyor, have a sailing instructor come up to sail on the test sail... All of which wouuld have driven the cost of my purchase up by 50%.