Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-02-2021, 14:48   #1

Thumbs up Plan is to circumnavigate with the family.

Hello!

Long time lurker, first time poster. I have read many posts that look very similar to this. I will try and provide as much information as possible so that you find people, who have much more experience than I do, can help guide our decision-making.

I have some sailing experience mostly racing in Hawaii on Oahu but that was many many years ago...

My wife grew up on boats, but most of it on the Ohio and Mississippi River on motoring boats.

We are both undergoing sailing lessons and getting certifications/chartering as time allows while we save money.

That being said, we are both neophytes to Bluewater sailing, and all advice is welcome and appreciated.

Our plan is to purchase in 18 to 24 months and begin cruising in Bahamas in Mexico for several months before branching out. The plan would be to live aboard and travel around as much as possible without spending much time at the marina. We are currently downsizing and putting our house on the market.

Plan currently is to purchase a used catamaran ?+/- 45 ft and retrofit depending on what is needed.

Things I would love your input on would include the following:

Make and model to be watching out for. We have spent hours and hours researching different models of catamarans.
Basically, it would need something large enough to house our family. Currently the girls have a room, the boys have a room, and the parents have a room. Given the size of the births, we would likely need a four room or a three room with a fold out somewhere.