Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Welcome Aboard > Meets & Greets
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-12-2007, 06:18   #1

Newbie - MacGregor 26 or ???

Hi all!

Newbie here looking to tap into your collective wisdom . I'm looking to buy my first sailboat. Tired of powerboat noise and ever increasing fuel bills. Pretty inexperienced sailor. A few years ago did some fun lessons and racing of dingies and lazers, so will certainly be getting a refresher course at the local sailing club.

Anyway, during my inital searching thus far the MacGregor 26 has really jumped out as a versital boat that could fit my needs well and I'm wondering what other boats I may be missing which you think would also fit well.

So here is my situation:

First, I live in Cayman Islands (Grand Cayman) and live on a canal that leads into North Sound (see on this map http://www.caymanactivityguide.com/i...aps/Cayman.jpg). North Sound is where I'd spend the majority of my time. It is very protected but isn't that deep (6 feet of draft could be serious problem in many areas). So draft is possibly my biggest concern. Cannot be a fixed keel with deep draft.

Other items of note:
  • As I live on the canal, the boat will basically always be in the water. So the trailorability of the MacGregor doesn't really buy me anything.
  • I'm not a speed freak, but ability to go out on calm day and still get around 10 knts via power would be nice.
  • Cabin space and ammenities is VERY important (need the wife to agree to any purchase )
  • Size I'm looking for is around 25-30 ft.