Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-07-2009, 08:56   #1

Boat: hunter320, 2001, Endurance32
Newbie from NJ, USA

Hello to all ... C&S is informative and lots of interesting stories !!! I'm spending too much time reading through old posts ... it is getting in the way of getting any chores done!

A little about me .... I sail a 2001, Hunter 320 with a 4'3" draft in Barnegat bay, NJ - I bought it new after sailing a few times on a friend's boat. I bought it while I was under 'mentally unstable' times (divorce will do that to anynone) ... it worked out that it was the best decision I made (probably saved my sanity). As a new sailor, I found all the shallow waters on the bay - I am a pro at getting off when I get agrounded!!

Last few years, I charted cats in the BVI & St. Martin (love the water - I never see the bottom in Barnegat!!) and last year, I got a chance to sail a Jeanneau 51 from Conn to the BVI - a 11 day sail. I am now a bluewater sailor convert - I love the feeling of sailing in the open water!!! Now, I am looking for a bluewater boat to sail to the VI spend the winter there and bring it back to the little pond (Barnegat Bay) for the summer .... I will posting some questions to get some feed back on a bluewater boat.

My choices are somwhat limited due to shallow waters in Barnegat bay, and the entrance to my lagoon. Selling my house is out of the questions; looks like my choices are limited to a K/CB option. My current choice (new boat) are Tartan 37 or 41 with a K/CB option.

I will be posting some questions on ...
  • Carbon Mast - really that bad? I think it is a great idea!
  • K/CB option - can't find the specifics on how it works, and problems, etc - particularly newer Tartan. I will be contacting Tartan for some drawings & specs and options.