Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-09-2019, 13:01   #1

New to the Forum with questions~

Hi everyone!

I'm new to this forum and hope to find some guidance on the sailing life. I have been envying the live-aboard life for about 10+ years and I'm cautiously researching the life, required skills, and tools of the trade.

The next step in my goal is to discern which used boats will fulfill the requirements of my goals. If anyone on the forum can offer me direction I would greatly appreciate it.

I'm most in need of qualifying the specification of a used boat that is capable of sailing oceans. I spend some time this summer looking at what is on offer on Kijiji (Canadian version of Ebay of sorts). It seems to me that some gems are available in my price range (~8,000-15,000).

However, I'm unable to get to the truth, and unable to find anyone I know with enough blue-water sailing to give me an answer that I'm confident in.

What boats are capable (assuming the condition of the boat is good) to sail blue-water for an Atlantic crossing or Pacific crossing?

Are there any minimum requirements for a sailboat that can sail blue-water? I'm looking in the 27-30 ft range, and know some other specs that would make the boat more attractive to me (such as skegged rudder), but how about overall length, keel length / size / draft?

Here is an example of a boat that I would assume is capable of blue-water, but the same type of boat has been called a dingy by someone I know who otherwise seems to have some knowledge about sailing.

https://www.kijiji.ca/v-sailboat/bar...ationFlag=true

Any help in this ongoing discussion would be very helpful to me and much appreciated!
rippledj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2019, 15:15   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Murray 33-Chouette & Pape Steelmaid-44-Safara-both steel cutters
Re: New to the Forum with questions~

Welcome aboard.