Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-10-2012, 16:54   #1

New to the Forum....Wanna Cruise!

Hi All,
I am new to the forum. I am studying up on all I can while still employed but near retirement. I am a professional pilot with no experience sailing boats, but with lots of enthusiasm, energy and interest. Having read a book recently, "Ten years behind the Mast" about a local guy who spent his younger years sailing the world I am inspired. My wife has owned two sail boats and is the practical one at this point. In any case I'm keen to learn and this looks like a good starting point.

Thanks, Skagway Jack
Skagway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2012, 18:36   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Pearson 422
Re: New to the Forum....Wanna Cruise!

Hi Jack and welcome to the forum.

I have met lots of pilots over the years that were sailors. I think the skill set of one transfers very well to the other. As a pilot you at least have a head start on how to read a chart, compass and such.

Nice thing about a boat, if you're lost you can usually stop for a while to figure out where you are. Flying you better figure out where you are pretty fast, before you become a glider.
skipmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2012, 18:41   #3

Boat: hunter 376

Actually, retired airline pilots make the worst navigators when sailing...8 hours into a Pacific crossing..."are we there yet?"
shorebird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2012, 19:02   #4
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Now boatless :-(

Quote:
Originally Posted by skipmac View Post
Hi Jack and welcome to the forum.