Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-08-2016, 07:58   #1

Boat: 1995 Seaward 25
New to the Board

Hello everyone! Greetings from Lake Saint Clair in Michigan!

I have read lots of good stuff on here for a while now but just now registered to participate.

I have been sailing since the late 1970's first on someone else's Edel 540, then a Catalina 22 (my wife and my first new to us boat that we kept for 10 years), and then a Seaward 25 for the last 12 years and still going strong.

Looking now to set off on the Great Loop in 5 years or less so I am hunting for a 30-32 sailboat. I actually live on the loop so anyone sailing by give a wave! Anyway, looking is always fun... I may, actually, just start off with the Seaward on this little adventure but the saltwater parts make me nervous. Why start with the Seaward? It's trailerable and it would allow me to plan out segments and then bring it back home. We'll see, but whatever the actual plan ends up being at this point is still just a dream...but, knowing that 5 years go bye like a blink it is not something to dismiss for too much later!

Recently a very good Irwin Citation 31 went off the market I was considering. However, as it was a 1984 it had a Yanmar 2GM 15 in it like all the Ericson's and Islanders in this size/age range seem to have. My 25' Seaward has a 1GM10 and it cruises around 5 kts under power making it difficult in the Detroit and Saint Clair rivers heading upstream. These are 30 to 33 foot boats with 13 HP. Does anyone have knowledge if the 2GM will move these up river well?

That is it for now...quite an intro, eh?

Regards,
Dan
dceggert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2016, 08:07   #2

Boat: Catalina 30
Re: New to the Board

Welcome Aboard
Old 27-08-2016, 02:56   #3
Senior Cruiser