Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Welcome Aboard > Meets & Greets
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-03-2022, 07:07   #1

Boat: 1983 34' Irwin Citation
New to sailing, going full time in 4 years.

tldr: super noob, never ever, going full time in 4 years, bought a practice boat to learn on. Thank you for all your help.

Good morning, my name is David Martin. I am about to turn 45, I live in San Carlos Sonora Mexico, and I am a project manager at an architecture firm in Massachusetts. Happily a bachelor with two dogs and no kids.

I bought a water front condo that I will have payed off in just under 4 years. The life plan is to go full time on a boat, and rent the condo out for income. Probably change my work up to more of a consulting roll.

Up until about 3 weeks ago, I could honestly say that I had never been on a sailboat. I have still never been under sail. Last night was my first night sleeping on one. I have come to find out during my research shopping for a boat locally, and by reading posts on this forum, that this scenario offends or irritates some people. I am sorry if you are one of the ones offended. I am still going through with the plan.

I did somethign similar about 8 years ago. Bought a large fifth wheel with no prior experince. Spent a year getting up to speed, and then traveled the hemisphere full time for 5 years, while working full time. Kept making sketches of rv's on barges and boats for some reason.