Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-03-2011, 18:16   #1

New to Sailing

Well, hello everyone! This is my first sailing forum. I will begin by saying that I am new to sailing and have yet to purchase a sail boat. Unfortunately this summer I won't be able to as I will be heading out of the country for work and won't be back for several months. So I figured I would learn as much as I can about sailing and the types of boats that are out there until I return. That way I can make an educated decision on what boat I will buy when that time comes.

These questions are the basics to the basics. I know absolutely nothing about sailing but I want to learn and have had a desire to learn for quite a while now. Only recently I have been financially stable enough to pursue this dream.

I am hoping this is the right area under this forum to be asking these questions, if not a little direction would be greatly appreciated.

1. So, to begin; my first question really is a basic question and I feel a bit silly asking it.

I've noticed that there are different types of sailboats. I see daysailers, cruisers and racers. I've also seen references to cruiser racers. I feel this question is the best one to ask right off the bat as it will help me to understand what is out there. What exactly is the difference between these and are there others?