Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Welcome Aboard > Meets & Greets
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-11-2017, 19:40   #1

New to... everything sailing.

Hello everyone!

First, a little background about me.

I'm 34, living in metro Detroit. Came here from Chicago for work (engineer in the auto industry). I've been working here for 5 years, make a decent living, but looking for a new adventure.

Some of my hobbies include: camping, fishing, motorcycle racing.

I'm a pretty laid back guy that enjoys to just kick back in the backyard and drink a beer watching a bonfire all night.

For the longest time, I've been thinking about selling almost everything I have, get out of all debt, and go sailing for a few years, just to reset my head. To the point I would look at the materials that I have, and think, "it's just stuff" and isn't really making me happy.

Well, the time has come. As of today, I can say that I'm debt free. Student loans, car loan, credit card debt are all paid off, what a great feeling this is.

I don't own a house, not in a lease with my current home, I feel free.

I've been putting a list of all the things I will be selling, and saving as much as I could to buy a boat and live aboard for at least a year, or until my money runs out.

My next steps are to read and learn as much as I can. Im also looking to travel somewhere in the US during the Holiday break and look to be a crew member.

Sorry for the long post, safe travels to everyone, and hope to meet some of you at some point in my life!

Joe
j cal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 20:16   #2

Boat: 1962 Columbia 29 MK 1 #37
Re: New to... everything sailing.