Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-08-2015, 01:52   #1

New to CF, hello all!

Hope I'm doing this right, if not, lo siento mucho! So I am just getting into sailing, hoping one day to own a blue water capable cruiser to live aboard that I might literally, one day, sail off into the sunset. Actually, given where I live, I may have to sail off into the sunrise! Haha! I am currently living in a gulf-coast state, but am basically retired early, and am thinking about moving either to the Pacific Northwest or New England. Trying to decide which.

I'm leaning towards the East coast because of where that'll let me sail to and from, Caribbean in one direction, Europe in the other.

On my to-do list are the following:

save up for and buy a boat
ditch all my cheap, came-in-a-box furniture
learn to sail
Figure out what sailboat best suits my needs and which I can afford (probably monohull single mast)
Buy boat and move aboard

Not necessarily in that exact order.

There's little else to say about myself, so I'll end with this: I am reading a book on how to sail, (a sailing manual,) and blogs about sailing like Bumfuzzle. (Actually read the book and am intermittently following their further adventures on their site.)

Whatever I do will probably end up single handing ultimately. May try singlehanded circumnavigation, if I ever feel sufficiently adventurous.

Thanks for reading!

Jeffrey Craig (Sent from my iPad using the Cruisers Sailing Forum App)
Currently on dry land, as yet without boat.
Jeffrey Craig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2015, 03:52   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Re: New to CF, hello all!

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, Jeffrey.

GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2015, 04:08   #3