Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Welcome Aboard > Meets & Greets
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-07-2014, 08:12   #1

Making the Leap From Lakes To the Bahamas

Hello everyone,

I have some basic sailing experience. Primarily on an old Chrysler 22 I bought out of college. It handled everything north Texas lakes could throw at it and never broke down. Actually it was a great little boat.

Now I am looking to get into more venturous waters, sailing in the Bahamas. Can’t wait to soak up all the knowledge in these here forums.

I have just started my research and spent some time on reading through some threads. Any thoughts on good resources to start with for buying a boat and sailing in the Bahamas?

Cheers,

Tom
TomDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2014, 08:46   #2

Re: Making the Leap From Lakes To the Bahamas

Lots of cheap boats down at the gulf coast, Florida etc, tons to chose from. All depends on budget. A lone male relatively young sailor can do it in a canoe on up. You don't need much to enjoy the scenery. What's your budget?

Sent from my iPad using Cruisers Sailing Forum
brantleychuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2014, 14:52   #3

Trying to do it on a tight budget. Ideally below $20K.
Old 06-07-2014, 15:52   #4
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Pearson 422

Is the 20K the budget for the boat or cruising also?

How are your fix it up skills; carpentry, plumbing, wiring, mechanics?

If the 20k is the budget for buying the boat I would save at least 25-50% of the money for fixing the boat after you buy it.

You should be able to buy a reasonable 27-30' boat for that.
skipmac is offline   Reply With Quote