Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-08-2020, 11:41   #1

Boat: Island Packet 380
Just Getting Started

'Ten miles behind me, and ten thousand more to go.'

Hi all, Newbie here, living in New England. I'm Eric and caught the sailing bug while racing for a few seasons in San Diego many years ago. Just turned 59, kids in college, single, and starting to get serious about cruising as a retirement plan.

My intent is to be methodical - signing up for classes, reading, and volunteering as crew. Lightening my possessions now as I work toward finding a boat to fix up/live aboard.

So about that boat. . . I want to be able to learn to single hand it when needed, so I can't imagine anything over 42' (?) or so. I'm handy with tools, so I don't mind putting in repair time, learning each system as I go. I'm favoring a ketch, center cabin, where all lines lead to.

So, I don't know where to start with brands and year made/models. Of course I'd love an Amel Super thing, but I'm probably playing with only $100k all in. Plastic boats don't do it for me.

The intent is to cruise locally for a while, learning the boat and acquiring the skills to gradually take longer passages. Thinking Caribbean and then the Grenadines. After that, the world! Lol.

Any thoughts on the above, recommendations for a good psychologist to talk me out of this, or any wealthy beautiful women who want to join me - all are welcome. Just wanted to say hi, let you know how much I appreciate all (most) of the good spirited people offering advice and wisdom. I've been lurking for a while, now it's time to get my feet wet.

Best,

Eric
pushstudios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2020, 11:49   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Pearson 33-2 1988
Re: Just Getting Started

Welcome Eric!