Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-05-2019, 21:34   #1

Boat: 1975 Pearson 10M
In Over My Head in Houston

Hello All! Owning a sailing yacht has been a dream of mine for some years now. I watched every site that sold sailboats, read about them, priced sailing schools. I was getting ready...

Now I have done it. I bought a 1975 Pearson 10M, I have zero sailing experience, and need to fast track it The first hurdle is moving her to a new harbor.

The boat is currently on the Colorado River, 15 miles from the ICW. It is roughly 115 nautical miles to her new home in Kemah. If pressed, I think I can muddle my way through motoring down the ICW and finding my slip. Lots of concerns and questions, even with the easy route. Where is the channel deep enough for my 6' draft? How do I communicate with the locks? Are the bridges tall enough?

I would prefer to enter the Gulf with an experienced sailor aboard, learn some basics and see what she's capable of. I figure it will be a 24-30 hour trip depending on conditions. I will cover all expenses plus some cash for the trouble for anyone qualified, willing, and able to make the trip sometime in the next month or so. If anyone knows of a likely candidate in or around Houston, please let me know!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Bullship.jpg
Views:	299
Size:	476.4 KB
ID:	192242  
Pearson10M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2019, 21:48   #2

Boat: 1969 30 Mariner Sedan Cruiser
Re: In Over My Head in Houston

Where is the channel deep enough - consult a chart and chart plotter and sonar. Don't know about out east but on the west coast on your VHF radio. I'm hesitant to give a channel as I'm not familiar with your waters.

The bridges, I can't answer.
rsn48 is offline   Reply With Quote