Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Welcome Aboard > Meets & Greets
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-08-2009, 06:52   #1

pirate Hi From a Wannabe Sailor in Jacksonville, FL!

Hi everyone. This is a fantastic site! I am new to the cruising scene, or should I say desperatly trying to break into it...I have always dreamed of cruising, and my 4 years onboard an amphibious warship solidified that dream (not the warship part, but the endless blue horizons of course and all of the amazing ports). I went to law school and now am trying to pursue any avenue that will get me into the sailing world. So any advice would be very welcome!
crazyoceandream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2009, 07:41   #2

Boat: Endeavour 37
Welcome aboard COD. This is a great place to "break into" the cruising scene. The sailors here can offer so much advice on any topic posted, I have yet to be dissappointed. I can tell you that it is best to ask specific question, but before you do, search previous threads since many many questions have already been asked and answered. On a more personal note, I am also a lawyer and have a solo practice. While the stress of making overhead is certainly a downside, the ability to tell the secretary that the wind is blowing 15 kn out the South and I won't be in today or the next few days is priceless. So, tell us about your sailling experience, do you own(ed) a sailboat, what waters do you intend to sail? I live in Mobile, Alabama and sail Mobile Bay and along the coast of the Northern Gulf of Mexico. I consider myself a guppy in comparison to many of the sailors here that have crossed oceans, but I will be glad to help in any way possible.